Welcome to parenthood

When my husband and I found out that I’m pregnant, we were im awe. We knew that it is going to change our lives, but we also knew that we can do it. That this baby is the product of our love and that he or she will be a blessing for us.

And so, weeks went by and we enjoyed my pregnancy and the changes it brought.

We saw our baby’s tiny little heart on a monitor beating like crazy… then it was the first kick in my belly…then we found out that we are going to welcome a baby boy in our lives and the weeks went by until we reached 40 weeks but the baby was still not planning to meet us. So the doctor suggested that I should exercise more, and this is when the fun started.

We live in a 10 floor building, so imagine me, 40 weeks pregnant walking up and down the stairs at least 10 times a day hoping that my water will break or I will start having some serious contractions…. but still nothing, nada, niente. So I kinda started to feel impatient. And just when I was about to loose hope…guess what. ….contractions started. And 24 hours later, our son, Eric was born.

I consider myself lucky because I had such amazing people taking care of me and my baby, and that my husband was with me every minute of the day and night. It really made the difference 🙂

And now, three weeks later, I am writing this article while Eric is sleeping like a baby next to me… that’s because he is a baby. LOL 😀

This 3 weeks have been a challenge….and such a wonderful one.

I learnt soo much from this little creature that resembles my husband entirely, but most important, I learnt what patience really looks like.

It’s amazing how he wakes me up 3 times a night and all I do is smile, even though I am sleepy like crazy… how his smile makes me feel like I’m in heaven, or how the image of my husband holding our baby in his arms reflects perfection.

Since our baby is sleeping a lot during the day and night, I can not say that there is a big change in our daily routine, and yet, our days are completly different.

Being a parent is new and can be confusing sometimes because the responsability is huge, and at times you’re not sure what you’re supposed to do next.

But the thing is that nobody knows at first…. We learn every day how to do it, and we grow together…we take every challenge and we turn it into victory.

And at the end of the day, the difference is visible.

At the end of the day you realize that all the worries during the day, if he’s either sleeping too much or not enough; if the tummy ache is still bothering him or if he’s warm enough, are what makes you a parent.

If you’re a good or a bad one, only time will tell.   In the meantime all you can do is your best and hope that every decision taken, is the right one 🙂12190954_10153705418456489_8618374676626399558_n

Leave a Reply

